Skip to content

DPchallenge…I wish I were…

October 31, 2012

 

tea party

Carefree and Happy

DPchallenge…I Wish I Were

I wish I were a child again,

my smile so free and clear.

I wish I were a speaker,

so I could bend your ear.

I wish I were a writer,

with words your mind can fly!

I wish I were a teacher,

Then I could tell you why

These are all things I have wanted to be.  But, when you think about it, we are all of these at one time or another anyway.

Obviously, we all started out as children, but I took it one step further.  I never really grew up.  I surround myself with children every day, so I’m very in touch with my childish side.  No, I’m not strange.  I’m a nanny.

As for a speaker, well, I suppose it counts for me because I talk.  I talk a lot.  Ask anyone who knows me.  I’m also very bossy.

I always wanted to be a writer.  Most people I know like to write.  I write all of the time, I just don’t usually let anyone read what I write.  It’s only been recently that I have been brave enough to share some of my thoughts and stories.   I sure love to read, too, and reading and writing go hand-in-hand.

Although I don’t have the formal education to be a teacher, I teach all of the time.  I help parents prepare their children for life.  I teach school preparation skills, social skills, manners and decision-making skills.  The children also teach me.  They remind me how to find happiness in the most simple things.  They make me smile when I don’t even feel like smiling.  They live in the minute, and I try to follow suite.

It’s easy to play the “I wish I were” game, but in the end you need to be happy with what you are.  If you are truly unhappy with who you are, then change the “I wish I were” to “I soon will be”!

From → DPchallenge, Poems

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

A Lion Sleeps in the Heart of the Brave

Living, Fighting, Thriving. Till I Collapse.

Nano Poblano

Official Home of the World's Least Official Blog-Everyday-November Challenge

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

thatocdishchick

Mission: to courageously explore life, share my personal observations, and DIY projects in a world filled with lots of scary germs that are out there to take me out.

Ask a Teenage Aspie

The Experiences and Opinions of a Teenager on the Autism Spectrum

The Ink Slinger

The Sometimes Coherent Babblings of a Wanna Be Writer

Mohawk Valley Girl

My Totally Fun Blog about My Life in the Mohawk Valley

iamjamieblog

7 is the new 30

jessadreamer

Thanks for stopping by. Why not follow this blog? :)

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Stories that Must Not Die

Here, we commemorate survival.

Michael's Origins

Sherlock unlocking the past

Press Here to Start…reading

A Guidepost to Children's Literacy

Pop Top Tour

Moving very slowly across the United States

cornfedcontessa

Fun info on beauty, travel, living & looking better

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Granny K Says...

Advice From Granny K

WhenCrazyMeetsExhaustion

My attempt at adult conversation.

